Vigil

Before the year ended, another godson, my constant chess opponent, presented me with an alternative to television. He loaned me the CD-ROM version of the HBO series Game of Thrones, all four seasons for my viewing pleasure.

“I have a lot of work,” I said plainly. “I’ll probably watch it later if I still possess the energy to open my eyes.”

“I have a lot of questions, Ninong,” he confided. “I am sure you could answer them when you’re finished with all the episodes.”

“You understand English, don’t you? What’s the matter?”

“Yes, but I have trouble following the dialogues.”

“I see.”  Nuances could be tricky.

I could tell that he was very interested. His enthusiasm showed on his boyish face.

“I will check it out during my break.”

Frankly, I was as ignorant as my neighbors about the series. Even though I was online most of the time I was not too keen to preview even the short clips on YouTube. I was more of a music video enthusiast.

I went back to the house to take a quick peek.

After screening the first episode of season one, I was glad I was spared watching the spoilers online. I felt a sense of heightened suspense, not knowing what would come next as the story unfolded. It was riveting.

Instantly, I decided to stop my field work. I had ten hours on my hands: everything went on hold. 🙂

I was not surprised why the series earned a large following. It possessed all the drama and mystique of a great legend.

I have not read the books yet. I am aware that most adaptations somewhat veered away from the original, with the author’s blessings, of course. Still, the core of the story was intact.

Like my godson, I have questions, certain matters that needed straightening out. For starters, in the first episode, how did one of the rangers escape the White Walker? My guess: cowardice could be the answer.

I am hooked so I am waiting for the fifth season installments. 🙂

BLOGGING  LIFE/STYLES  MY STORIES  WHISPER  ZONE

4 thoughts on “Vigil

    1. A fair warning, though. There are sex scenes, nudity, foul language and of course, violence. However, they all contributed to the story’s development.
      Give it a try. 🙂

  1. The book is massive. This series is true to the book. Yes there is violence. In that world, there was much violence. Violence is part of life, like sex. I like this series because you see people grow and change for the better, become stronger and in some instances, you see evil people getting their just rewards, You also see innocents betrayed. But it is a riveting series. I always have to explain to my husband what is going on and who people are and how they are connected. It’s complicated! but oh my, it is mesmerizing.

What's on your mind?

