Promise

Good day guys and gals!

I am bit refreshed from yesterday’s rather serious theme. I know I promised to disengage from talking about topics other than the literary and which was followed much later with my personal ‘cleansing’ by seeking solitude, but the gruesome news I saw on television early on about a mother and child murder where the assailant robbed them, raped them and bashed their heads, extremely infuriated me to the point I had to voice out what was on my mind. Who could call such behavior human?

Most of us try hard to elevate our standards to the more civilized level. We strive for a more peaceful and humane world.

However, as long as there is much hatred going around, we will not see a future where people work together for the betterment of mankind.

I have been called a lot of things. When I was a child, they cited my starry-eyed view of the world. As a teen, they proclaimed my optimism. As a young adult, most people complained about my cynicism. Before I reached 40, when real life begins, I was hailed as a pacifist. At this mature age, I see myself as all of those and more.

I do not know all the solution to the ills in the world. What I know is that personally I can work hard so as not to be a problem of society.

Harsh Wednesday was over when I slept last night. Mild Thursday it is today.

Happy blogging everyone!

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

10 thoughts on “Promise

  1. It is very difficult when faced with images 24/7 provided by a media that believes that only ‘bad’ news sells to find a balanced view of human nature. This was appalling and part of the problem is that we know that real justice as deserved by the people inflicting this horror is unlikely to be reasonable let alone appropriate. I take comfort that the people that I have met in person and here in the various sites I occupy at various times are good, hardworking, animal loving, kind people who feel just as powerless as I do. But maybe we can collectively make a difference as you are doing with your blog. Thank you for all the support on mine. best wishes Sally

    1. There were no visual accounts of the crime but the story alone angered me. If only for some comfort, her baby who she left under the bed, survived miraculously.
      Sometimes, I feel the need to let off steam, to state what I believe. Blogging gives me that outlet.
      I have to admit that I was but a simple farmer when I started this blog. I had no idea that reading other people’s blogs like yours would educate me more than I could ever imagined. I learned a lot and still learning.
      Thank you for your support and encouragement. I appreciate it a lot.
      Blessings
      belsbror

  2. I was reading a book that pretty much was saying that most people that commit that kind of crimes are the ones who have been in and out of the system all of their life. In other words they are the result of a broken system. Scary to think that people can be so violent and selfish.

    I like the snow theme you got going on. Have an amazing day 🙂

    1. In some way, the penal system is not working. Even the justice system has loopholes. However, each individual has the ability to cultivate his good side. It’s just a question of resolve and faith in the goodness of oneself.
      By the way, if you wish to have the falling snow feature, please go to the classic dashboard, go to settings – general. At the bottom, click the box after the word snow.
      Have a nice day. 🙂

What's on your mind?

