Self Defense

When is the right time to defend yourself? Is it when your assailant already fired at you or stabbed at you and missed? Or, is it before any injury is inflicted on your person?

This morning I had a long conversation with someone who spent twelve years in prison. He defended his father from mortal injury. Unfortunately, he killed the attacker.

In his defense, he tried to pacify the attacker who wielded a long bladed knife but to no avail. He and his father would have died that day if he did not react. Himself wounded, he was forced by circumstances to stop the attacker at all cost.

I am a simple person with simple thoughts. However, when evil confronts me in the face, my simple logic stands at the forefront: I must defend myself with whatever means possible.

Methinks, people who intentionally plan and execute misdeeds should account for their malevolence. They should not blame poverty or any past abuses inflicted on them by others. Such kind of justification is too shallow if one considers that their would-be victims may not be remotely connected to the wrongs done to them. Will their targets have the right to defend themselves or not?

A victim who creates a victim of others is no less criminal as the person (or persons) who wronged him in the first place. If this is not so, every victim should have the right to victimize another, and so on, and so forth. When will the violence end then?

What would I do if suddenly, at a time I least expect, a criminal comes to me and tries to rob me? I have two options: first, I’ll give him what he wants and pray he moves along, or second, I will defend myself right there and then.

Situations vary, I know. But if and when my life is threatened, the criminal in front of me could not blame me for sticking to my survival instinct.

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

22 thoughts on “Self Defense

  1. Very well put. I agree with you in that one should not use the past to justify hurting another. Also, from the stand point of the victim, I will protect myself. When I act in defense, I know I am not just defending myself, but my mother’s daughter and someone’s friend. All actions have unseen results in ourselves and others, and so, sometimes defending myself may be giving the robber what he or she wants so the individual can leave. And if the assault escalates, then I will attack in turn until I am able to get away. However, at that point, the assailant should be ready to receive some serious damage.

  2. Survival is primal. Unfortunately there are so many threats out there and unsuspected dangers. If we fear for our lives and safety, I believe in reasonable force or any force which is needed to remove the hazard. We are not living in the cave times anymore yet we still have those underlying instincts. Most of us would do anything to protect our loved ones. Surely that is expected 🙂

  3. The victims should understand and stop the violence. Though this seems ideal, some parents tend to love their children and stop their children from being victimized. Why can’t we do so to others?

    >

  4. In fact, it causes me to protect others from falling into victim. Recently, unexpectedly, I confront a man who was snatching a paper from a woman’s tight fist. Startled man stopped it. Then I walked away surprised at my actions.

  5. If anyone threatens the ones that I love or myself with violence and make the first move I would do anything in my power to resists and defend. What really irritates me is that the words ‘Human Rights’ are applied to all prisoners equally. Not so to victims whose human rights have been trampled all over. In the UK we have nearly 90,000 prisoners getting three hot meals a day, all utilities, television, free medical and dental even though incarcerated in their cells it costs the taxpayer including the victims of crime, £40,000 per year. Our pensioners struggle to survive, eat, pay their utilities, get an appointment with their overloaded doctors and pay through the nose for dental as they are incarcerated in their homes with the fear of going outside into the world – the cost £6,000 per year for a pension they have earned and usually paid for throughout their working lives. Justice…..

    1. To follow your logic, it pays to be a criminal. If one does not get caught, his crime continues. Otherwise, he spends jail time like a vacation. That’s the worst injustice of all, I believe. Not for him but for all law abiding citizens.
      I am all for human rights to be sure but once a person transgressed willfully against the law, he should accept the penalties for his crime: incarceration. Given with only the most basic needs to survive, he would be rehabilitated under the strictest rules. All the amenities of a normal life should be removed during his stay.
      Governments should balance the needs of its citizens although it should be tilted more for the ordinary hardworking and upright majority who refrains from breaking the law.That is real justice.

      1. Absolutely and it also shows that despite that fact that they pay lip service to the jury system of trial by your peers it is actually in the hands of the legal teams and the judge making the real final decisions in most cases. And when it comes to sentencing there is so much plea bargaining and time off for alleged good behaviour, the real sentences can be pitiful.

      2. We do not have the jury system but like you pointed out, the judge in both system wields the real power to hand a decision.
        I am not a lawyer but common sense tells me that justice could only be served if prison terms will have the physical penalties included and enforced. For example: prisoners should work in farms: let them sweat under the blazing sun. They should produce food for society as payment for their crimes.
        If jail term will not be a walk in the park, would-be criminals would think twice that if caught, not only they will lose their freedom but they will be subjected to hardship they would not have to endure in the first place.

      3. Absolutely – they have to earn their keep and regain their freedom and respect. I have seen people be turned around but our current UK system just seems to put young offenders in with long term criminals who are not the right role models. Still we can only keep putting our views out there and hope for the future. We can also try to influence those within our own families and communities to not follow that path in the first place.. have a good night and great to have this discussiong with you. best wishes Sally

      4. Out here with simple folks, crime is minimal. Yes, there are petty thefts but that’s about it. People realize that crime is not the answer to their poverty. Hard work is.
        Your country’s problem is similar to ours. Would you believe that criminals here transact business while inside jails? Yes, they do drug deals with sophisticated electronic systems.How could we rehabilitate them if they do their criminal activities with impunity?
        My personal opinion: Get them to an island. No visitors for the duration of their jail term except in emergencies. Let them work the fields. Remove all amenities. If ever they go out, I believe they will think hard before committing another crime in the future.
        Have a good night! I appreciate having this discussion with you. Thank you for sharing your views. 🙂
        Blessings
        belsbror

What's on your mind?

