Out of Nothing

That’s me!

I was so glad to see my body, not the way I liked it to be, but still I was near.

Before I could join my flesh and blood, an invisible wall prevented me. It seemed an impossibility since I was a spirit so I could get through space with ease. At that instance, I could not.

“Did you forget something?”

The invisible wall and the entity transmitting thoughts to me could be one and the same.

I did not have to ask who it was because I was already warned who waited for my return.

“Do I have to get your permission to wake up and continue my life?”

“You know I was tempted to keep your body because you seem to be enjoying the spirit world.”

“I am sorry if you felt that way. It was a liberating experience. I am sure you did it yourself.”

“Yes. Millions of times.”

“So you agree with me.”

“Not really. You had a joy ride. Mine was a job I am responsible with.”

“I am curious. How did it happen to me?”

“Didn’t you remember the last thing you did?”

I tried to recall what it was before answering. My body was sitting in front of the computer so perhaps I fell asleep while surfing the Net.

With the force vested on the entity beside me working wonders, the video I was watching earlier played on the monitor.

“Your trigger is somewhat entertaining. Strange but subliminally powerful.”

“It was accidental. I never planned it nor intended it to happen.”

There was a long pause. The entity could be arguing with itself on how to treat my case.

“Since this is your first offense, I am willing to overlook your transgressions. I will convince the offended parties that you were a harmless traveler who committed unintentional mistakes.”

“So, could I enter my body now?”

“Go ahead! I’ll be on my way. I hope I won’t see you again for a very long while.”

I was afraid to ask why. The invisible wall began to take a shape of something everyone recognized.

When I actually saw what the entity looked like, I did not waste time waking up. My whole body was shaking: I was perspiring all over. Who wouldn’t?

I survived my personal chat with the Angel of Death. Thank heavens! It went just fine.

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

2 thoughts on “Out of Nothing

  1. Because I could not stop for Death
    Emily Dickinson, 1830 – 1886
    Because I could not stop for Death –
    He kindly stopped for me –
    The Carriage held but just Ourselves –
    And Immortality.

What's on your mind?

