Long Distance

 “Talk to me!”

Michael could be imagining her image on the window pane. She appeared alive, reacting to his words. If that was the case, he should not move so as not lose the ideal vantage point.

“What did you say?” he tried to lip read; she talked a bit faster than he recalled. “Someone tried to court you?”

He could not interpret her body language, the glare of the mid morning sun disturbed his viewing.

“Well, you are not alone, my love. I, too, was nearly snatched by another girl. You know her.”

– 0 –

“Is that so? I am jealous.”

Rowena adjusted the full-sized mirror, her remembrance of Michael’s stature was slightly blurred. Even in memory, he still looked dashing and chivalrous.

“Wait till I get home,” she said with a laugh, “I’ll teach her a lesson. She should know better than to steal you away from me.”

She touched the surface where his face should be, her loving gaze intense, that it could travel through time and space if it was possible.

– 0 –

“Don’t hurt her, please. She mean us no harm.”

Michael came closer to the glass, his voice louder so she could hear his words wherever she was.

“Who are you talking to?”

He turned around to see his mother standing behind him, hands on her waist, impatience written on her face.

“Rowena.”

“Son, will you stop it! It’s been over a year. You know what you’ve been through, what we all have been through. Move on.”

“I have never given you headaches like other boys,” he said. “I don’t stay out late. I am home as much as possible. I don’t drink or even smoke. John does.”

Except for that disaster with Rowena’s father, Zenny admitted that her son was the epitome of good behavior. His obsession with her was the only blot in his spotless record from a parent’s point of view.

“I don’t want you hurt again,” she insisted. “I am just worried that you are overdoing this.”

“Look, Ma,” he took her hands, clasped them, “I am not crazy. I am in love. Is that a crime?”

“No, it is not,” Zenny could not find fault with his notion.

“Then, please let me be.”

– 0 –

“Okay. If you say so.”

Rowena smiled, satisfied with the thought her boyfriend was loyal and true.

Maddy has been listening to her monologue since she started. Confronting her should be a priority, she has to stop pretending.

“I think we should talk, my dear.”

Her daughter was startled to see her sitting on the bed.

“Ma, I thought you were downstairs.”

“Rowena, I think it’s time that you let Michael go. I know we made a mistake to separate you two. I am sorry. Your father and I realized that a bit too late.”

“Ma, I am going home.”

It was Maddy’s turn to be surprised. What on earth was she talking about?

“You are home, dear. We live here.”

“Back home, Ma.” She was decisive. “To Michael.”

– 0 –

“I am sorry for the interruption.”

Michael spoke quickly, her image fading as sunlight slowly erased the contrast on the pane.

“Mother could be so protective,” he confessed. “But she understands now.”

He kept talking until the room was filled with light.

“Come back soon!”

– 0 –

“I will!”

Rowena danced around like a little girl, liberated from the shackles of the past. Her mother decided to let her go.

“If Michael does not treat you well, come back. We’ll start again.”

Maddy’s reluctance was overpowered by her daughter’s display of sudden rebound to good mental health.

“Ma, you could not imagine how happy I am today.”

“I can see the twinkle in your eyes,” Maddy could not stop crying. Her daughter was back.

“Thank you, Ma.” Rowena hugged her so tight, all ill feelings between them gone forever.

(to be continued)

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

6 thoughts on “Long Distance

What's on your mind?

