Hurdles

Scheduled absences are a given because I am a farmer. However, interrupted activities are beyond my control.

Most of you are well aware of my country’s inefficient power and broadband services. Those two alone and/or combined limit my presence online. Not only I am short-changed when their services falter, I feel literally robbed. (I have a pre-paid account.)

So I have to be inventive: use the quality hours to my advantage.

For the past weeks, I have been captivated by the volumes of videos on YouTube. It has been a good source of material for my latest posts. You see, writing posts is not a problem: what to write is. The videos provide me with a short cut to convey what I was thinking at that moment.

Yet, creating posts could be difficult, too, especially if the dashboard does not load properly. From the beginning I have relied on this feature, that when it is working properly, it’s a breeze to compose content.

It was only lately when I discovered that there’s another way, another page to accomplish the same function. Unfortunately, the feature was recently revised that frequent users complained of its revision. I tried it with a couple of posts when the dashboard did not load; I agree with the complainers that it is not user-friendly.

If that is not enough to keep me scratching my head, The Reader, which I use regularly, acts up in various strange ways. An enumeration of my observations is in order.

1. I scroll down to read, to click like or write comment, and to click the title to usher me to the particular site. If the Reader works properly, this is the most optimum way to blog.

Problem: Once the unread queue reaches 20, the Reader automatically refreshes, scrolling automatically to the top to show newer posts. If this happens, and it often does, I have to scroll back down to the last post I was reading. It is tiresome and a bit annoying.

Problem: Once I click ‘like’ in the Reader, I am confident that it is registered on the site. Often, when I check immediately by visiting the particular site, the ‘like’ was not registered. I have to click ‘like’ once more. It is a redundant effort and perhaps unnecessary in the first place if the Reader is working properly.

2. I scroll down to read: I currently follow many blogs so I am sure the Reader will show them all to me.

Problem: I am aware of the 15 tags rule, that posts with more than that number might not be displayed in the Reader. However, sometimes I get to see only a few posts when a notice appears at the end of the queue that reads: Sorry, there are no more posts to read but you can always check out freshly pressed! If I was away for even a single day, should I be swamped with unread posts?

3. I read quickly, scan for important words and if I am in doubt, I reread everything. Then, I click ‘like.’

Problem: A couple of days ago, I encountered a strange phenomena. I clicked ‘liked’ and it registered. Fine. But after the Reader refreshed, all the ‘liked’ reverted back to ‘like’ as if I did not click earlier. I thought at first, it was a hiccup so I repeated the clicking. Unfortunately, after my third unsuccessful try, I surrendered. I lost enough time that I should have used reading instead of repeating clicking ‘like.’

These are some of my current worries that I hope The Happiness Engineers are fixing the soonest.

I hope everything goes back to normal: worry-free blogging.

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

12 thoughts on “Hurdles

  1. Unfortunately this seems to be the way of WordPress. That said, most people have free accounts so hard to complain. I thought service would improve if I paid, so I did. No such luck, service is still bad. Just happy to be able to blog and read the blogs of others…like yours. Wishing you clear connections and great days!

    1. I also considered that, paying for the service. But since you said that nothing changed, I am having second thoughts now. 😦
      WordPress has been a good platform when I was still beginning. Back then, I have few complaints. But when they began tinkering with the old features, something probably went wrong. As they say: if it ain’t broken, don’t fix it.
      Unfortunately, at my end, the services also suck. I am stuck between a rock and a hard place. 😦

  2. The Reader has issues. I struggle with some of the ones you mention. I think the Like not appearling may be related to whether the blog in on WP or self-hosted. In any case, when I really like a blog (like this one) I subscribe via email.

    1. I think all blogs I follow are in WordPress. This issue with the Reader did not appear back then. I suspect that this is because of the on-going overhaul of other features like the New Post revision.

    1. I partly agree with commenting is the best like. 🙂
      Here’s why:
      1. With the log on feature, that’s an ordeal to some like myself (with connection and power issues)
      2. My motto: if you cannot say something nice, don’t say anything. (press like would be better)
      3. If you are swamped with too many comments and you cannot answer immediately, those who comment might think you do not care.
      4. We are all busy bloggers. Sometimes, we need to read as many as 100 blogs per session. For 1 post per blogger, commenting will take time including the reading time. Multiply that with 100, how much time will that take. Assuming you have good connection? Then, you also have to reply to those bloggers that commented in your post. Add all of them up and you can imagine what I mean. 😀
      5. I like a post because I like it. Should I explain to everyone why I like it? A fair question, isn’t it? 😀

      1. That’s a lot of work for me. I read a lot. When one goes into the site and view, it registers. If I want to say something, that’s a bonus. Some sites eliminated their like features but it’s part of the reader feature.

        Since i read a lot especiallly news articles, the news paper writer has no idea whether I like the article or not. Therefore, I pretend that this is a newspaper were many reads. I get a lot of views registered on Stats.
        I did an experiment about likers by writing just one post a day and see if these likers actually view the post. Plenty of likes, very little views.
        I concluded, I will just surf amongst 16millions members of WP and not necessarily be a follower.
        I am not much of a follower either.
        I did that math about followers and likers, I’ll be lucky if I get 1% likes from the followers because some of them are bogus.
        One site is for real though since I’ve seen him all over the place. “The Wrong Hand” has more than 1M views. He’s good, I must say, Canadian to boot.

      2. When I was just starting, I was also intrigued by the stats. Well, I am still. I love Math but the Math in the Stats confounds me to this day.
        Like you, I experimented. (I experiment a lot with some of my posts.) I kept changing the time I post something. Since most of my followers are Americans (if the views are to be relied upon), I post early on and stop before 3 pm. But I got it all wrong. Based on email notifications, I see differently. I am puzzled.
        So, I am not into the Stats thing now. I like to see it when I am online but I feel it’s the bonus thing for blogging much like the awards. It’s a come on for us bloggers to continue what we are doing. That’s positive I think for our confidence.
        The followers on the other hand is a mystery for me. Like the stats, I like to see it grow but what’s more important for me is the followers who stays on. I follow those who follow me. I think that’s fair enough. 🙂
        Well, blogging always gives me contentment. I continue to discover, learn, be entertained and inspired. I share the same thing so that others might find my contribution worthy for their time in the Web.

      3. This is the thing about I like you because you like me. I notice that a lot. I liked a post, the next thing I know the site I like, liked one of my post and not the current one right away. It’s kind of silly.
        I follow blogs because I enjoy what I read and I enjoy promoting them. I don’t want people to feel completted to hang on to my post because of “faithfullness”. Blogging is one way of making ‘friends” with technology since I had an aversion for computer. Currently my computer is hiccuping. Shoutd it die, I have not intention of getting another computer right away. It means I will be off the air.I know I will miss it because I feels up some of my time. I could always get back to reading and knitting or something else.

      4. You are right about the blogging principle. We stay on sites we really like to hang out, not the ‘loyalty’ thing though. 🙂
        I could stay online for a whole day if the connection is okay. There’s lot to discover and learn from. This is where I learned that watching TV is but a small fraction of information that is out there. I am always astounded by the sheer volume.
        I have my scheduled hiatus, farming, that is. But blogging is connected to my writing. Practice makes perfect, they say, so I need some kind of affirmation that I am on the right track. I really want to see my work published.
        We do what our hearts tell us to. It’s up to us to decide where to draw the line.
        Thank you for the wonderful exchange of ideas. I learned a lot today. 🙂

What's on your mind?

