Realistic

A huge museum building was opened. Inside were thousands of works of arts by unknown artists, newly-discovered talents. popular figures and dead masters. Entrance was free of charge so anyone could come and visit.

One day, a group of teenagers, accompanied by their teacher, came to see the exhibit. On the entrance they were asked to register using a unique image they personally chose to identify themselves: all visitors carried these unique image identification.

From the first work of art  they viewed, they noticed that the museum had a different set up: each piece had a small screen below. Two buttons to press: LIKES and COMMENTS. A keyboard was also present.

The usher explained to them how it worked, that it was part of the museum’s way to gauge which paintings were popular with visitors.

Without further ado, the teens began pressing Like on every painting they passed, not for a second they stopped and pondered what the painting was all about. The teacher, on the other hand, made a slower pass, pressing the Comment button and typing on the keyboard what was on her mind.

The group reached two paintings that hanged side by side. On each, an individual stood by, most likely the painters themselves.

Like earlier, the teenagers did the same stunt while their teacher, who they waited for, patiently typed her comments for each painting.

Once the group moved further away, the two individuals discussed their differing opinions.

“Those teens pressed Like without taking notice of what my work is about. I feel depressed if people do that,” remarked the professional-looking artist.

“I don’t mind as long as they pressed Like,” jested the other, more of a vagabond type. “If I am not here, it won’t matter, isn’t it? We don’t know who pressed Like and how they did it?”

“It matters to me. I want my work to be talked about.”

“What then, if someone says to your face, that your work is worthless? Would you prefer that than an unknown person who pressed Like?”

The professional paused for sometime, pondering the man’s logic.

“I guess I will choose the latter,” he admitted.

“You see, what’s important is that we are here. Our work of art is here for all to see. The Likes are just for show. The comments work either ways: to put you down or to boost you up.”

“That’s simplistic!” the pro guy exclaimed. “We are here to be noticed, be popular.”

“You said that, not I.”

“Visitors should like my work because they really liked it.”

“For the sake of argument, here me out. A person comes to you and says, I like your work except that your use of color is inferior. Then, another comes along and says, I like your work because your use of color is brilliant. Who would you believe?”

“It depends, I guess.”

“Both of them pressed Like, with contrasting comments. The thing is, they probably pressed Like because they were happy that they saw your work, that if they had not visited this museum, they would not have known you existed at all.”

“What’s your point?”

“Do not be too consumed with the number of Likes. If you get a lot, say thanks. If you don’t, wait. Visitors come all the time. As long as your work is on display, chances are it will be noticed by others.”

“But I want people to comment.”

“Be prepared when the time comes that you will be overwhelmed by too many comments that you would wish that a simple like will do.”

“You are probably right,” the pro clicked his tongue. “That’s a frightening thought.”

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

14 thoughts on “Realistic

  1. Interesting debate, especially for a blogger. I only click ‘Like’ on things I have had a chance to read and decide that I do like it. I’d like to think that’s how I get the likes I get, but I guess I don’t care. If I like what I posted, the picture I took, the furniture I built, etc. then I’m good.

    1. Do you press Like if you agree, say 50 percent, to what is written? If it’s about a sad event, do you press Like because you liked that the post is well written and not because the sad event happened? There are too many gray matters to deal with, interpretations vary,

      1. If I don’t like or agree with the post, I won’t press like. If I don’t agree, or if it’s sad but well written, I will make that known in a comment. Of course, there’s only so much time, so if I don’t have time to read or explain things, I just skip it. I think (hope) people understand. I won’t simply randomly like things but I can’t give everything the time it deserves.

      2. When I am offline, I often wonder who would like what I have posted. I could see later who pressed like. Without comments, I would not have known if they read it and pressed like, That’s the point. The like is an indication that someone visited, not automatically read the post.

      3. A lot of the bloggers I know are serious about only liking what they like. I love comments because they give me insight into the subject. I’ve been amazed sometimes that people focused on a sub-topic rather than the main point. Maybe that means I didn’t write it well.

      4. I believe what you said. I agree. 🙂
        If they focused on the sub-topic, it does not necessarily mean you did not write well. Perhaps they have other reasons for doing so.
        Thank you for an engaging discussion. You have explained well what you feel.
        Blessings
        belsbror

  2. I was a bit hesitant at first, when I first read you post about a sad event, but then I did press the like button. Pressing the like button, as far as I am concerned, was my way of acknowledging your effort in reaching out. I would have probably missed the information about that sad event had you not posted about the same and pressing the ‘like’ button was a simple way of saying ” thank you for your post”. Comments, on the other hand, make such interactions a bit more personal, and therefore carry a potential of triggering unintentional controversy/hurt (particularly in the case where you disagree with post). So, I guess, most people go with being polite and simply acknowledging your post by pressing the ‘like’ button. (it is not feasible to vent one’s opinions on every post – every time, is it?) so here comes our simple ‘like’ button! especially for times when you feel too lazy to write … 😀

    1. I write the Realistic post as a way to show the two sides of the issue without preaching what should we do individually. You are correct: we often press ‘like’ because we want to acknowledge the blogger for his efforts, whatever the content of the post was, either sad, happy or mundane. He wrote it and we say “I liked it that you posted it” by clicking ‘like’ even as a passing gesture.
      Some of the contentions I read in many posts about this issue is the real definition of the ‘button.’ Whether we admit it or not, we want people to agree with us when we post something. Getting ‘likes’ is the affirmation how many saw the post. Not all of them read it in full, some read parts, some simply assumed it was of similar quality the blogger had been posting.
      Say, I posted a video of a popular song. Obviously many readers had seen it in the past in other sites. Once they see it in my blog, I believe an immediate pressing of ‘like’ will follow if indeed they liked it before. They would not even have to play it again.
      For posts with sad content like what we have in Ajay’s case. Pressing like to a blogger’s post does not equate to liking the sad fact, rather liking how the blogger made an effort to show his gratitude. Some people will not press ‘like’ because they believe that other people might interpret it the wrong way, which was not even the purpose of the blogger writer in the first place. Even if he do not receive a single like for the post, what’s more important for him is that he shared what’s on his mind openly.
      In my opinion, the like button is there to show our presence. If we cannot write something good in the comments section, we simply press ‘like’ to say to the blogger writer, “Keep blogging. I am here to support you.”
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Your clarification about the matter is much appreciated. But for me, you do not need to explain because before your comment, I have no doubt of your good intentions.
      Blessings,
      belsbror

  3. I have enjoyed this ‘Realistic’ post very much because of its content which created a wonderful dialog in the comments area. I would like to think I post because I want to express something that needs to be said or an interesting story I want people to read. When writing, I rarely think about whether someone is going to click the ‘Like’ button or comment. I do think about whether or not I’ve written something that is well-written and enjoyable enough to be read. If I get a ‘Like’ I am happy; if I get a ‘Comment’ I am happy. They are both the same.
    Blessings to you,
    Isadora

    1. I have read many blogs discussing this issue in length. The pros and cons are about even. Some bloggers complain that readers like their post without even reading it. The problem with this logic is how do they know. If you are away from your computer for a day and readers liked your post, how do yo know if they read it if they did not comment. Are you assuming that those who did not comment, did not read the post? Even if you are in front of the computer, can you categorically say that when the likes appear, most of them just passed by and clicked like without reading?
      I can see in my email notifications who liked my post but the number did not jibe with those in the post itself. At first, I wondered how that happened. But as time went by, I decided it was not a big deal. I know my post is there and readers will read it, pass by it, scan it or ignore it. The likes are the bonus. Just like you said, “If I get a ‘Like’ I am happy; if I get a ‘Comment’ I am happy.” We share the same view. 😀

What's on your mind?

