Compete

I had related earlier that four years I lived near the river, which is approximately seven kilometers away from where I stay nowadays. During that period, my daily life was inconvenienced with the near lack of electric source for appliances. All I had was a handy battery-operated transistor radio to entertain myself.

The first few weeks after I relocated near the national highway, where electricity was present, I was so eager to switch on my old stereo component with an even older separate portable DVD player attached to it. With a 25-watt double speakers, I was ready to rock and roll. πŸ™‚

Naturally, I was not the only person who wanted loud music blaring at full volume. My nearest neighbor’s teenage son held the title when it came to disturbing the peace through music.

Imagine my surprise one day when I heard the song I was listening to created a loud echo. It sounded like a perfect delay of a few seconds similar to what one could hear while shouting near mountain ranges.

However, when the playback changed track, a different ‘echo’ sounded in the background. Curious of the phenomena, I decreased the volume considerably, trying to figure out what was happening.

What do you know? It seemed the title holder would not forfeit his supremacy. He outplayed me song for song, decibel for decibel and with much staying power. He wanted to show me who owned the neighborhood’s attention.

Good humored, I took the challenge. For a whole week, the air was bombarded by clashing tunes of rock, reggae, disco, pop and even jazz. We did not see eye to eye, our stereo sounds did the battle.

I had my ace under my sleeves. I knew he could not match what I had in store for him on the seventh day.

At six in the morning, after the roosters trumpeted their last crows, I began my challenge. I knew he would love to drown my music.

I heard him play the loudest heavy metal tune he could think of. But before it could reach its crescendo, it died suddenly. Loud voices could be heard outside, a father and a son arguing.

I looked out the window to check what transpired. What welcomed me was a friendly call.

“Can you make it louder? That sounds really good,” the father asked amiably.

“Of course. It will be my pleasure.”

Full volume he wished, full volume he got.

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 Β won the battle.

BLOGGINGΒ  Β LIFE/STYLESΒ  Β MY STORIESΒ  Β WHISPERΒ  Β ZONE

17 thoughts on “Compete

    1. Hahaha! We have moved on. I was just teasing him back then. He learned the meaning of defeat, πŸ˜€
      As to your noise battles, there’s good way to annoy them, in good spirit of course. Play music they hated. That could turn their volumes down a bit.

    1. I am glad you were entertained. πŸ™‚
      I love music. Almost all genre appeals to me. Even the sound of frogs after a heavy rain is music to my ears. πŸ˜€

What's on your mind?

