Hide and Seek

Ever played the game before? I bet almost all of you experienced the joy and excitement this playful activity brings.

This morning I played the game with an inanimate object. No, seriously. You read correctly. ๐Ÿ™‚

I remembered placing the house main door key in a flower pot not far from the entrance. This was considered a routine whenever I go out to ensure I would not lose it outside while doing field work. I had a difficult time looking for it once when it slipped out of my pant’s pocket.

I did manage to work for a few hours before the rains came. Not to stay idle while waiting for the downpour to stop, inside the balcony I rearranged the flower pots and cleaned the area of dried leaves. It was a chore I often bypassed due mainly to procrastination.

Hours later, after a lengthy chat with a friend about local politics, I decided to go inside to eat lunch. It would have been a straightforward routine in my schedule had I found the key immediately.

With a hungry stomach I was angry at myself for losing track of a small but very essential tool for a worry-free living. Being trapped outside the house was a nightmare knowing fully that food was inside waiting to be devoured.

Before I yelled out to no one, I calmed myself. Visualizing where I last saw it in my mind, I tried but I could not. In desperation, I replaced the flower pots to their original spots to jog my memory.ย It was mental torture.

But fortunately, in my attempt to hope for the impossible, I twisted the door knob. Voila! It was open. I forgot to lock the door. ๐Ÿ˜€

I found the key an hour later after an uneasy lunch. It was in a pile of dried leaves I took out from the balcony. Obviously, it fell from the flower pot during the rearranging.

BLOGGINGย  ย LIFE/STYLESย  ย MY STORIESย  ย WHISPERย  ย ZONE

12 thoughts on “Hide and Seek

      1. LOL. You are just the sweetest. If you saw my house…Good golly! I feel so behind on everything. I called over a teenager to play with my boy in 30 min so I can try and touch my blog this wk!

What's on your mind?

