Love Letter

While I was searching for the continuation of a short story in one of my several boxes of junk, I found a handwritten note on a paper faded by years of inattention. The mark that it was crumpled once gave me an indication that it was worthless. But then, I am surprised why it did not reach the trash can long ago.

This time, I feel I have to share to you its contents.

(undated)

To Whom It May Concern,

It has come to my attention that you are accepting applications for a vacant post in your life. It is my intention to fill the spot. As per your qualifications, I am pleased to enumerate the reasons why I am the most perfect candidate for your approval.

1. I do not drink alcohol nor smoke. I don’t even know how to gamble.

2. I am a homebody. I don’t go out with friends and waste my time.

3. I can do the household chores.

4. I hate shopping.

5. I get along easily with old people.

6. I can do everything you want me to do. I mean, everything.

I would appreciate it if you come to my house, ready to ask my parents for my hand in marriage. You do not need to bring a gift. A simple engagement ring will do.

Yours very sincerely,

P.S. Please burn this note if I do not meet your satisfaction.

I could not read the crossed out signature because I do not recall how I reacted to it. I am not even sure where it came from. ๐Ÿ˜€

BLOGGINGย  ย LIFE/STYLESย  ย MY STORIESย  ย WHISPERย  ย ZONE

34 thoughts on “Love Letter

      1. Well perhaps the new Don Juan has additional qualities…writer, romantic poet, storyteller…I should write a post under my category “dating”. This should be a funny post.

      2. You could do that. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Well, I am not good at writing mushy dialogues. Take for example this: “Here’s a leaf. Life through those veins mirrors mine. Hold it close to your heart and feel my life touching yours.”

      3. Interpretation of words is for the reader and you would be surprised….well, I’m off to work…have a great…um, night I suppose …it’s noon here.

  1. What a great letter! I can’t imagine that you did not just rush over and grab her. I cannot imagine such a letter being a prank. Some poor woman is there thinking of how her Romeo never replied and now she is just another Juliet, in her balcony, waiting.

    1. The formality of the letter smelled like it was written by a friend who wanted me pursuing a non-existent Juliet. The ‘I hate shopping’ point gave the writer away. There is no woman who hates shopping. (laughs)

      1. Ha! I don’t like shopping. Shoping for clothing, shoes…hate it. Poking around in food specialty shops, produce stands, little.hidden Asian stores – yes, I like. The gift I always give for wedding, baby, birthdays? Gift cards. My family laughs and says my motto should be, Got Amazon?

      2. You got it! My ideal is not looking for that one pair of cute shoes that only goes with one outifit or yet another statement necklace….I’m very basic and practical. I do however enjoy looking for new hair sticks – just found a lovely silver one with an all over 3D pattern of plum blossoms. LOL….hair sticks, knives….My mother in law has over 100 pair of shoes, most of them for just one outfit. I just don’t get it.

  2. wow…dear belsbror, i hope that this letter recovers your true love…it is too lovely and divine with such a sinceraly and simple words which envoloped your divine soul full of love. I am sure that maybe somewhere it is a perfect soul for you…

  3. but you believe in fate! sometimes we choose someone who we want and in the end Love and Hapiness, do you think that it is possible to creat your reality? how are your thoughts and feelings is how your life is…what do you think?

    1. Yes, I believe in Fate. What we wish and what eventually happens often are two different events, possibly not to our liking. Even if we could create the reality, there’s a chance the other person might feel differently, especially when Love is the issue.
      I am not an expert about this, having failed several times. But what I realized now is this: it is probably my fate to be alone.

  4. Please translate for me :”Sarcina ta nu este sฤƒ cauลฃi iubirea, ci doar sฤƒ cauลฃi ลŸi sฤƒ gฤƒseลŸti toate barierele dinlฤƒuntrul tฤƒu pe care ลฃi le-ai construit singur pentru a te feri de ea.” Rumi
    i am looking or waiting for someone who is able to receive and share…just one step ๐Ÿ™‚ i’d prefer to be optismist than…another things.

    1. “Your task is not to seek love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within you that you’ve built your own to protect yourself from it.
      All you have to do is find a friendly face and your interactions are there, all in one place.”
      I used the translator with the quote. I hope it is correct. ๐Ÿ™‚
      You are young and I am very sure you will find what you seek. Believe in yourself.
      Blessings
      belsbror

What's on your mind?

