Man of the Soil

I believe in fate.

If you asked me twenty years ago I if I do, my answer would definitely be an absolute no. I could have enumerated all the reasons I could come up with in addition to my loftier goals I planned years before.

Right now, yeah, I am sure: fate is real.

I am not surprised though if many of you will disagree about belief in fate. I respect your points of view. šŸ™‚

I came to this realization while I was clearing my small orchard the other day. While taking a breather under a tall decades old mango tree which I inherited from the previous owner, my mind wandered off a bit, well, a quick review of my past in a flash.

I asked myself, “Did I ever consider my life to be where I am right now?”

After drinking two glasses of water, I remembered the first tree I planted as a ten year old. But, I was not sure why I did it back then. It is only now that I seem to connect it to fate.

It is definitely a long story of graduating as an engineer, to taking chances in the undeveloped Middle East, to savoring a short episode in a part of Scandinavia and then back to the land of my birth. It was a roller coaster ride I begin to accept as detour to where I am destined.

In fact, there is a local saying, which roughly translated, stating:

The procession might be too long,

but it always end up in the church.

Do I have regrets? None really. Along the way, probably. But today, as I write this post, I am satisfied with the way things are going. A simple life will suffice. šŸ™‚

All I need is the icing on the cake, so to speak. šŸ˜€

BLOGGINGĀ  Ā LIFE/STYLESĀ  Ā MY STORIESĀ  Ā WHISPERĀ  Ā ZONE

21 thoughts on “Man of the Soil

  1. Everything you did prior to taking a break under that mango tree got you to that point in your life!

  2. Fully agree. I could not dream after being a citizen of the USSR for 40 years to become an American and live in New York another 40 years. I also could not dream after living in a country with closed borders to be able to travel freely and visit many countries.

      1. I call it a miracle, a gift from God. šŸ˜‰
        But in 1974 it was a terrible gamble. We became enemies of the state and we had no idea if we would ever be permitted to leave the country

  3. I read this twice~ I hope to get where I believe in fate, I still have to many questions of “why”…..i guess i’m still trying to get my piece of the ‘cake’ so i have something to put the icing on šŸ˜‰

    1. Mysterious it may seem, we don’t usually associate fate with the positive. When we succeed we say it was hard work. When something went wrong, we see other elements which often include fate.
      You will get there eventually, I believe. You’ll get your icing, too. šŸ™‚

  4. Great post love this!! It’s funny how our thoughts and opinions change over the years isn’t it and somehow all of the things we thought were oh so important are so much less so than we imagined and yet the simple things, a smile, a tree, a flower they become so much more precious and so much more meaningful.

    In the end I think a simple life is a life well and truly lived and loved šŸ™‚

  5. I’m not so confident about fate, but, in considering where I am it usually strikes me as making good sense that I should have ended up where I am and doing what I’m doing.

    1. I respect your view. šŸ™‚
      I think we could see our lives turn as we wish but sometimes we fail to realize that we are driven to another way.

  6. belsbror, I do believe in fate. I’ve been shown thus. When I was a year old, I would give invisible medicines to invisible sick people, and at three, I started foraging. Then I have led this long life in between to end up making and sharing medicines with people invisible to society and foraging. I did not plan this!!!! šŸ™‚ I believe in fate, because nothing else would explain why a child new to the world was doing things that she ended up doing when she was older. This was NO plan of mine! And I am happy for it!!! šŸ™‚

    1. I believe you. I think you are the prime example for this. You are blessed with a gift we only wish we possess. šŸ™‚
      Satisfaction of one’s life is already an achievement in itself.

  7. I like this…everything as you need it to be…
    I hope you whip up a recipe for that icing … šŸ™‚
    I agree…we are exactly where we need to be…
    growing and blooming in our own garden space
    Take Care….You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

What's on your mind?

