Meaningful

Except for English speakers, what do you call an egg in your language?

I know some, if not most, of you tried to learn a second and/or a third language. It is fun and educational which could come in handy anytime.

But if you are in my country, you will be amazed to learn that we have almost 170 dialects in actual usage, 8 are major because more people use them. Try learning that. 😀

Well, I mentioned this because where I live, there are at least 15 dialects that natives and emigrants use. Thankfully, most of them understand and speak Tagalog (also called Filipino) which I am well-versed at. Still, I have to learn the basics of the other dialects so as not to be easily ‘sold’ for being ignorant. 🙂 (Sold is a term used to mean ‘not easily duped.’)

Funny that most of the time, misunderstandings ensue because of these differences in spoken words. There are instances that people speak of one object but the respective translations in two dialects provide comical relief.

Take the egg for example. In one region in Luzon (one of the major islands), two provinces share a river boundary which is connected by a bridge. If you hold the egg on one side it is called itlog (egg in Tagalog). But after you cross the bridge, you will find out it is now called ebun (egg in Pampango) which in Tagalog means bird (ibon).

Imagine if you are there while two individuals argue as to what you are holding. 🙂

There are other numerous examples of these hilarious translations. No wonder, we Filipinos are fond of playing with words, literally and figuratively. 😀

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

17 thoughts on “Meaningful

  1. It is interesting to think of dialects and different ways that the same country say or express things. My Filipino friends are from two different areas and when they talk, I can hear them questioning the details and getting the distinctions. In a human woman’s body aren’t the eggs called ova or ovum? Interesting stuff today! Thanks for being a nice ‘liker’ of my posts, I try to play catch up on weekends, but always fall behind. Smiles, Robin

    1. Yes, that happens a lot with us Filipinos. We ‘jump’ to the occasion when someone fails to say what he means with what he really meant. Confusing, huh? (laughs)
      Ova is still itlog in Filipino but you have to attach the adjective to mean that it is from a woman’s body. One word in English but three words in Filipino. 🙂
      When the internet connection is erratic, all I could do is like a post. The comment sections of sites freeze that I could not add something. This happens a lot. 😦
      I, too, have a lot of catching up to do.
      Blessings,
      belsbror

  2. I am awarding you the Wonderful Team Member Readership award. There are also 6 awards I’m offering to all my readers, which you can take any or all of those. If you don’t accept awards, sorry about that, it’s just my way of saying thank you for coming by. For more details, please view this post http://wp.me/p41c99-MI Take care, Sage

  3. I’m reminded that one of the popular bits of folklore about the development of the English language is from about the time of Chaucer, when sailors from the north of England were in the south, and tried to buy eggs, to have the shop-owner complain that he didn’t speak French. I don’t know whether the story’s true — after six centuries, how could it be, I suppose — but it also kind of suggests the shop-owner just thought any foreign language sounded like French to him.

What's on your mind?

