Shock Treatment

I was politely asked to babysit a godchild last week because of a long story I’d relate in another post. 🙂

So, to pass the time while the small child played to the max before sleeping, I amused myself by turning the DVD player on. Since I had watched almost all the available titles on the rack, I was surprised to discover that the original Japanese version of The Ring was on hand.

Watching a movie without subtitles is not my usual fare. You have to second guess where the story led to. Similar films in the genre provide more visual content that the foreign dialogues are somewhat irrelevant to understand what’s going on.

(To those of you who have not seen the American version, it about some kind of a curse you get after watching a particular VHS taped movie. The following telephone call you receive will mark your last seven days before your horrible death. Chilling, huh?)

Comparing the two versions is like comparing an apple with an orange. Which is which? Unfortunately, I cannot expertly distinguish the cinematic difference between them. But what I do know is that they both engaged me with suspenseful entertainment,

(On my scare scale of 10, both films are 5. A movie with the rate of ten in my personal standard will give me sleepless nights.)

It is interesting to note how the belief in one phenomenon can cross continents without losing much of the theme’s appeal to different audiences. I guess we love to be scared once in a while.

Or, do you?

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

13 thoughts on “Shock Treatment

  1. I watch a lot of foreign films with subtitles, and I’ve never tried without them. American versions of foreign films tend to be inferior, in my opinion. If you know of any exceptions, please let me know as I try to avoid watching American versions if there is an original available.

  2. THe one that comes to my mind is The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I LOVED the swedish version but not the American version so much. And I’m american! Sometimes American films don’t know how to tell a deep story without all the special effects. I prefer the story over glitz.

    1. I think I saw that one but I am not so sure as of this time. I’ll have to check that out later.
      There are also great American films like the original The Exorcist with Linda Blair and The Silence of the Lambs with Jodie Forster. But as you accurately pointed out, many US films rely more on special effects than telling a compelling story.
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. 🙂

      1. True…I do love those movies. Contact is another good one. Do check out the Dragon Tattoo movies. I think there are 3 or 4 of them, and watch them in order. They are AWESOME!

  3. I saw the Japanese version first and then our version. it is amazing how urban legends are universal – like the girl on the side of the road who is given a ride but disappears out of the car before she gets home, killed while walking home…that sort of thing.

    Like the US western – Magnificent Seven, based on the Japanese Seven Samurai. another one of those Japanese movies us Americans stole the idea from! I hope you had fun babysitting. I don’t know anything about children and never babysat so I would have been at a loss!

    1. I’ll have to tell that reason in another post. 🙂
      As to film versions, there is nothing wrong with them as long as the new one do not veer away from the original. As to the urban legends, you are right: they are universal. They happen everywhere with different twists and turns. 🙂
      Thanks for the input. 🙂

What's on your mind?

