Blocked

Yesterday, I was writing a romantic segment of one of my book drafts where the lead male character suddenly found his love interest in the jungle, wounded and exhausted. It should be an evocative scene of longing and redemption.

But then, I had some difficulty describing the scenario and the dialogues because no inspiration came as I always expected. Most probably, the quiet surrounding was useless that time.

So I played in the background some Mariah Carey’s songs to provide the low-volume music to dig up some emotional stuff in my heart to stir the words inside my head. (This is the first time I did this. πŸ™‚ Often, I listen to, would you believe, dance tunes while writing.)

It was dark in the room. No one seemed awake minutes before midnight.

My writing got going when the song Hero began. The heady music aroused my brain into activity that my hands got busy typing letters into words, phrases, sentences and paragraphs. Gratefully, I was inspired.

But when the song Without You played next, painful memories haunted me that I sat there in front of the computer stunned. The train of ideas suddenly stopped. Everything went blank. A picture of a broken heart stayed in my subconscious like it was a gigantic warning sign.

I thought I could get out of the lonely episode when the song finished. I was wrong. The next song even forced me to the emotional dumps. All by myself kind of kicked me where it really hurt.

Damn it, I swore, turning the computer off.Β What a way to invite writer’s block!

I should have listen to Christmas songs instead. πŸ˜€

BLOGGINGΒ  Β LIFE/STYLESΒ  Β MY STORIESΒ  Β WHISPERΒ  Β ZONE

7 thoughts on “Blocked

  1. OH my! I always listen to only instrumentals because I get lost in the lyrics. I think that is amazing how we can be inspired by music. I love piano music mostly it makes me feel like I’m floating and my words or art just flow. If I played All by Myself or The Wind beneath my wings I’d be thinking of Beaches the movie and crying in no time. πŸ™‚ Maybe try some great jazz or Yanni, I love Jim Brickman as far and pianos go! πŸ™‚ Good luck!

  2. Here I thought you were going to have a solution not make it worse. I too struggled yesterday but it was because I had ESPN on. Thanks again, I enjoyed your post.

What's on your mind?

