Rocked

During my grade school days, I joined the school choir. I was considered a tenor, which I did not know what it meant at the time. 😀

We joined inter-school competitions. I knew we won some and lost more. 🙂

The point of this reminiscence is a question that came to me one night after watching an MTV clip. Is there a so-called Gospel Rock genre?

Yes, you can rearrange old songs of a certain type to sound a bit differently. It has been done before with remakes. But what if the song, which is of a rock genre, is to be also considered as gospel music.

Take Foreigner’s I Wanna Know What Love Is. The first time I listened to it, I automatically deduced that it’s a song sung to a woman. But after a few more replays and listening carefully, I figured it’s like a prayer to the Almighty.

If the song is sung by a boys’ choir in a church service, I think those who are not familiar with it will probably guess that it is an old church hymn.

Heard anything similar lately?

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

What's on your mind?

