Healthy Drink

Whew! It feels like summer in the tropics. The thermometer reached 34 degrees Celsius. With the humidity, it feels like 36 out in the open. I have to hide in the shade of mango trees to feel a bit cooler.

Whenever I visit my place near the river, refreshments could be had nearby. I often ask someone to climb a coconut tree. There’s nothing more natural and more refreshing than the juice of a freshly-opened young coconut.

Unfortunately, no one was present yesterday to climb.. I had to settle for the next best source of natural juice.

So, I picked out ripe calamansi fruits from the orchard. With half a teaspoon of raw sugar in the mixture of juice, water and ice cubes, a glass of the natural drink quenched my thirst.

In the evening, I mixed the juice with a small amount of shrimp paste. Along with smoked fish and a plate of rice, my simple supper was complete. 🙂

Earlier this morning, I was on two minds on what to do with the rest of the fruits. I could sell them or have a barter trade with a neighbor in exchange for vegetables. I chose the latter instead.

As you can imagine, there are many alternative sources of natural juices around. That’s one of the perks of living in the province. Often, the drink is on the house. 🙂

P.S. I have finished the Chemistry post with the names of the nominees. You can check out the re-post later.

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

What's on your mind?

