Feel Nature

Just the other day, I lost one of my slippers. I knew I had them the night before but the next morning one was missing. I took the other inside the house while I tried to find the other.

I suspected that perhaps a playful stray dog fancied chewing the rubber slipper, not because it is edible but somewhat smelly. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, I walked the dirt road without anything on. (I was clothed, mind you.) With the flat of my feet feeling the roughness of the earth, I trudged on while my eyes surveyed the clearing.

In some way, there was this exhilarating effect on me, to experience what people of old felt before the invention of footwear.

Frankly, my feet admonished me to take caution, the pricking of small stones on my skin was painful at first, yet soothing like a natural foot massage. To my perception of simple living, this was it.

I know some very poor fellow somewhere in some part of the world do not have the luxury of even owning any footwear. Walking barefoot is just a way of life, not certainly by choice but by fate because of poverty.

Before I sank deeper in thought to question existentialism, I found the offending dog under a mango tree. It had the slipper under its front paws, pretending to own the footwear through the rule that finders are keepers.

When I tried to retrieve the slipper, the dog simply whined. No growling. Nothing. It just surrendered its ‘toy’ to the rightful owner.

I was not angry at the dog; it was probably part of its nature to chew things. Strangely, I was rather grateful for the incident. If my slipper was not taken, I could not have felt how barefoot walking made me a lot closer to Nature.

BLOGGINGย  ย LIFE/STYLESย  ย MY STORIESย  ย WHISPERย  ย ZONE

6 thoughts on “Feel Nature

  1. There’s something that feels a bit wonderful about walking barefoot (or at least in socks alone) somewhere you’re not expected to, like, outside your home. My spouse was startled when I walked the length of the bowling alley to return my rented shoes and didn’t bother putting my street boots on to do it, and that’s hardly anything. Which doesn’t take away from thoughts of people who do that not for the fun of it but because they haven’t got a choice.

    1. As a farmer, I have to get used to walking barefoot. Not only that, walking in mud, too. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I am glad you also felt the experience. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Blessings,
      belsbror

  2. Excellent little story, a joy to read! The perspective that you took on the experience radiated such inquisitiveness and openness, and that became balm that soothed my spirit. Thank you for posting ๐Ÿ™‚

What's on your mind?

