New Breed

Ever met a Filipino before?

To most of you abroad the answer to this question varies depending where you are or where you work. Even if you answer in the affirmative, I am not a hundred percent sure your experience is something to brag about. Unless you met those Filipinos that are well known.

Here at home, we continuously see the influx of half Filipinos, children of inter-racial marriages. Back then, they were like a novelty that appeared like snow fall in a tropical country. 🙂

Today, they are the professional basketball players, footballers, movie and TV personalities and of course, beauty queens. We love them for their different looks, higher stature and sometimes their strange accent speaking the national language.

And, there is no stopping the arrivals of entertainers. Here comes what we call the Foreignoy. You heard it correctly. Instead of foreigners, they removed the ers and change them to oy, culled from the oy in Pinoy which is the colloquial term for a Filipino.

They consider themselves Filipino at heart. Never mind if they do not look like the typical native, the half breed or the cosmopolitan rich. They speak the language like it’s never heard before: the sweet sound of a twisted tongue could compete with local gay lingo for popularity. 🙂

A local TV station introduced them a while back. I bet that within a year they will multiply like gremlins, entertaining us with their antics and probably replace the local faces we have grown tired of watching. (I know it’s only my perception.)

Indulge me, then. Here’s the scenario.

A tandem of a former Russian and a half American, female and male respectively, read the headlines. The weather forecaster is half Japanese while the business reporter is half British. The man talking about sports is half Italian while the woman interviewing celebrities is half Nigerian. Field reporters hail from Germany, Australia, India, Middle East, all are half bloods.

Aw, I forgot. This newscast is read entirely in Filipino. (laughs)

I once jested in a Twitter post that at the rate Filipinos travel and live abroad, we will conquer the world. Other countries’ population decline while we interbreed and propagate the come-what-may-attitude genes of a Filipino.

Want to meet a Filipino?

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

17 thoughts on “New Breed

  1. Hahaha…. actually I had a babysitter who was Filipino, I was probably about 7 and as a 7 year old she looked like she was eighty, she was probably close to late sixty /seventies…..she would always bring her lunch and would often share some yummy Filipino food. She was such a kind woman.

    1. Filipinos work abroad because we cannot earn enough money at home for a more affluent life. No wonder your babysitter was too old and yet she still worked.
      As to food sharing, it is one of our traits, even if the food is not enough for everyone. (laughs)

      1. I remember feeling bad and sometimes declining her offer because after giving me some and my little sister some she hardly had any for herself.

        She was with us for a few years and then went back home.

      2. To you the invitation to share was literal. For us, most of the times, we decline the offer. I know this is confusing but that’s the truth. I don’t know what to call this phenomenon. 🙂

    1. Another example as I mentioned. 🙂
      We have a half Canadian as Miss World, a half British as first runner up in a Miss Universe pageant, etc, Your cousin might be encouraged to join a beauty contest, 🙂

  2. I worked with many people that were Filipino in Miami, I found them fun and extremely intelligent, sharp, and hard workers.
    Fabulous people.

  3. Haha. My dad studied in the Philippines for a bit and so we knew a few people growing up. But then we moved to a community where suddenly, all of our friends from church were part Filipino. I love when you have a little representative of the world right at your neighbourhood!

  4. I must confess. I married a Filipino from Floridablanca. We have three wonderful half-filipino, half-american children. I have tried to learn Tagalog, but my tongue got a permanent twist in it while I never managed to figure out the loopy grammar. Filipinos have a good laugh when I try to speak it. Mga bata make fun of me. And I laugh too. Now, how about somebody vowing to learn German with me?

    1. Loopy it is. 🙂
      I tried to learn German once. (I can speak, read and write Swedish a bit.) But I have more difficulty in pronunciation.
      I am very happy that you have a Filipino family. You bred the new breed. 🙂
      Blessings,
      belsbror

What's on your mind?

