Beginnings

Relocation has always been a part of my life. When I was young, our family had moved from one place to another at least five times. The only reason was improvement.

From a derelict rented house not far from a steel bridge to an owned two-story house in the middle of a well-entrenched squatters’ community, my family had seen the joy and pain of leaving behind people, things and sites that had been a part of each residence. Certain memories stuck but through the years they continue to vanish from our psyche.

Sometimes, when I remember my past, I could still recall a number of events that marked some important segments in my life. There were also things that reminded me of those events that I still possess to this day. Yesterday, I stumbled upon one such item.

An old black and white photograph inside a long forgotten album which belonged to my parents came to my attention while looking for old papers to sort out. Along with wedding photos, there were but a few that was left to reminisce about.

Looking at it closely, I have validated one of my earliest memories as a child, that of being dirt poor. Now I have confirmation that even at that stage of impoverished existence there were also light moments to cherish. .

It was so amazing how a simple photograph could show how it was like back then. At least, a positive adjective was added to my early childhood: happy.

BLOGGING   LIFE/STYLES   MY STORIES   WHISPER   ZONE

7 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. I just finished photographing all the old family albums and you are right it give one sense of place and brings back memories both good and bad. But then again the pictures are of “real” life..mine and yours.

    1. You hold on to your old pictures. They are priceless. On my part, I had only a handful to take care of. During a fire in one of the houses we lived at, we lost almost everything of value, including old photos. I admit now how I missed those.
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I feel a bit better now.
      Blessings,
      belsbror

What's on your mind?

